How to Tell If Someone Blocked You in Gmail

Did some of your important clients block you in Gmail? They aren’t replying to your email, and you can’t see them in chats.You’ve sent a couple of emails to their email ID, and you can’t get any response from them.

How do you know if they’re just busy or they blocked you in Gmail?

Let’s see some of the suspicious things that could mean you’re blocked.

If someone disappears on your contact list, it might be because they’ve blocked you. But a few situations can lead to these results, so it’s essential to look out for more signals. Remember, Gmail doesn’t have features to give successful delivery reports, but they mail-back if your email delivery fails.

How to know if someone has blocked you on Gmail

On Mobile

Hangout users have a Google account that they use to make chats and calls. Your Gmail contacts are auto listed in Hangouts when you tap on contacts on your hangout apps.

Here, you see a list of all people, whether they are online or offline. If someone you had on your Gmail list doesn’t appear on this list, then they’ve blocked you.

Even though it’s not easy to tell if someone has blocked you on Gmail, the hangout mobile app can make it easier to know if a Gmail user blocks you.

What happens to blocked emails in Gmail?

When someone blocks you on Google, it affects the GChat and GTalk. The recipient will no longer receive your emails after you’re blocked.

Yet, you may find a person in hangouts and Google+.

What happens after blocking is that your emails are sent to the spam folder of the recipient.

On PC

  1. Open Your Email in Gmail in PC or laptop and log in to your Gmail account
  2. On the left corner is the Google Chat List of people you’ve recently contacted.
  3. The list shows recent messages by default. Click on the icon circled on the bottom of the left corner to open your contact list.
  4. Go through the list and see if you can find the name of the person who you think has blocked you.
  5. If their name appears, then they’ve not blocked you. However, if the name that previously showed to the list doesn’t show anymore, then you’re blocked.

 

Why is my email blacklisted?

Following could be the reasons:

1. Your messages are seen as “Spammy”
If a couple of people are blocking you, then there is something you’re doing wrong. One common reason is that your message is being disregarded as spammy. This is especially if you’re broadcasting emails without any personalization.

2. Your Email Provider Has a Bad Reputation
If your email host is known for sending spammy messages, then you could end being a victim.
Although it’s hard to tell if this is the case, it’s crucial that you choose an email service provider with a good reputation.

What to do after being blocked?

You could try reaching out to the recipients with two emails, convincing them you’re not a spammer. And request them to “whitelist” you. If you’re running an email list, you can request your subscribers to put you on the whitelist right from the beginning.

Also, try to change your email service provider, if you think they’re the reason you’re getting spammed.

Final Thoughts
Someone can block you in Gmail. Although it’s hard to know when this happens, the above two methods can help you see if you’re blocked or not.

As a rule of thumb, ensure you send relevant content to your recipients, personalize the emails and use a service provider with a good reputation.

This will save you from blocking problems. Read out about our services on Email tracking to know more.